CHURCH CALENDAR
PRE-LENTEN TRIODION PERIOD THROUGH
PASCHA AND BRIGHT WEEK 2017

Saturday, February 18
First Saturday of the Souls
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια)
Commemoration of the Dead
 
Sunday, February 19
Meat Fare Sunday - Sunday of the Last Judgment
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:45 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) and
Sunday Church School in St. Catherine Chapel
10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
Last day on which the eating of meat is permitted
 
Saturday, February 25
Second Saturday of the Souls
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια)
Commemoration of the Dead
 
Sunday, February 26
Cheese Fare Sunday - Forgiveness Sunday
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
Last day on which the eating of dairy is permitted
 
Monday, February 27
Καθαρα Δευτερα - Clean Monday
GREAT LENT BEGINS
STRICT FAST DAY
5:30 p.m. Great Compline
7:00 p.m. Lenten Dinner
 
Wednesday, March 1
6:00 p.m. Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Communion may be received with proper preparation.
Holy Confession available prior to the Service
 
Friday, March 3
7:00 p.m. First Salutations to the Theotokos
 
Saturday, March 4
Third Saturday of the Souls
Feast of the Miracle of St. Theodore
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια)
Commemoration of the Dead
 
Sunday, March 5
First Sunday of the Great Lent
Sunday of Orthodoxy
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) and
Sunday Church School in St. Catherine Chapel
10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
 
6:30 p.m. Sunday of Orthodoxy Great Vespers Service
St. George Antiochian Orthodox Church
1220 S. 60th Court, Cicero, IL.
 
Monday, March 6
6:00 p.m. Great Compline Service
7:00 p.m. Adult Bible Study
 
Wednesday, March 8
9:00 a.m. Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Communion may be received with proper preparation.
Holy Confession available prior to the Service
 
Friday, March 10
7:00 p.m. Second Salutations to the Theotokos
 
Sunday, March 12
Second Sunday of Great Lent
Saint Gregory of Palamas
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) and
Sunday Church School in St. Catherine Chapel
10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
 
Monday, March 13
6:00 p.m. Great Compline Service
7:00 p.m. Adult Bible Study
 
Wednesday, March 15
6:00 p.m. Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Communion may be received with proper preparation.
Holy Confession available prior to the Service
 
Friday, March 17
7:00 p.m. Third Salutations to the Theotokos

Saturday, March 18
9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. Annual Lenten Youth Retreat

Sunday, March 19
Third Sunday of Great Lent
Veneration of the Holy Cross
8:30 a.m.   Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m.   Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) and
Sunday Church School in St. Catherine Chapel
10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
 
Monday, March 20
6:00 p.m. Great Compline Service
7:00 p.m. Adult Bible Study
 
Wednesday, March 22
9:00 a.m. Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Communion may be received with proper preparation.
Holy Confession available prior to the Service
 
Friday, March 24
7:00 p.m. Fourth Salutations to the Theotokos
 
Saturday, March 25
Feast of the Annunciation of the Theotokos
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
 
Sunday, March 26
Fourth Sunday of Great Lent
Saint John Climacos
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
 
March 27
6:00 p.m. Great Compline Service
 
Wednesday, March 29
6:00 p.m. Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Communion may be received with proper preparation.
Holy Confession available prior to the Service
 
Friday, March 31
7:00 p.m. Akathist Hymn to the Theotokos
 
Sunday, April 2
Fifth Sunday of Great Lent
Saint Mary of Egypt
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια)  and
Sunday Church School in St. Catherine Chapel
10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy ">(Θεια Λειτουργια Main Church
 
Monday, April 3
6:00 p.m. Great Compline Service
 
Saturday, April 8
Saturday of the Resurrection of Lazarus
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
 
Palm Sunday, April 9
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια)  and
Sunday Church School in St. Catherine Chapel
10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια) Main Church
Annual Palm Sunday Luncheon following Services
7:00 p.m. Service of the Bridegroom
 
Monday, April 10
Great and Holy Monday
7:00 p.m. Service of the Bridegroom
 
Tuesday, April 11
Great and Holy Tuesday
7:00 p.m. Service of the Bridegroom
 
Wednesday, April 12
Great and Holy Wednesday
2:30 p.m. Sacrament of Holy Unction
7:00 p.m. Service of the Bridegroom
Holy Unction will be distributed after the Service.
 
Thursday, April 13
Great and Holy Thursday
9:00 a.m. Vespers and Divine Liturgy of Saint Basil
7:00 p.m. The Holy Passion of Our Lord
 
Friday, April 14
Great and Holy Friday
9:00 a.m. Reading of the Royal Hours
3:00 p.m. Removal of Christ from the Cross
7:00 p.m. Service of the Lamentations
 
Saturday, April 15
Great and Holy Saturday
9:00 a.m. Vespers and Divine Liturgy
11:00 p.m. Canon of the Holy Resurrection
 
Sunday, April 16
HOLY PASCHA
12:00 Midnight Resurrection Service and Divine Liturgy
11:00 a.m. Vespers of the Feast of Agape
 
CHRIST IS RISEN FROM THE DEAD TRAMPLING DOWN DEATH BY DEATH AND UPON THOSE IN THE TOMBS BESTOWING LIFE
 
This is the Day, which the Lord hath made,
Let us rejoice and be glad in it.

 
Tuesday of Bright Week, April 18
Feast of Panagia Portaitissa
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια)
 
Friday of Bright Week, April 21
The Life-giving Fountain
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια)
 
Monday, April 23
Saint George the Great Martyr
8:30 a.m. Matins (Oρϑρος)
9:30 a.m. Divine Liturgy (Θεια Λειτουργια)

Contact Us

Assumption Greek Orthodox Church
601 S. Central Avenue
Chicago, IL 60644
Phone:  (773) 626-3114
Fax:      (773) 626-3141
Email: office@assumptionchicago.org

Weekly Church Bulletin

Upcoming Events / Dates To Remember

Image result for facebook logo

Watch Worship Services Online

Live Divine Liturgy Services can be viewed every Sunday morning beginning at 9:45 am CDT

Assumption Greek Orthodox Church is now streaming our services to those that are unable to attend in person. We are also giving you a way to submit an online offering by using the form below.

Please make a custom offering by indicating your offering in the area provided.

Offering Amount $

If you would like to make a recurring offering you may do so by using the form below to set up the amount and frequency of the offering and clicking the submit button.

Your recurring offering will automatically be deducted from the form of payment you indicate for the amount and frequency you selected until you decide to stop or change the amount/frequency.

Recurring Offering